4 South American nations launch joint bid for 2030 World Cup

MONTEVIDEO, Uruguay (AP) – Soccer executives and political leaders from Uruguay, Argentina, Chile and Paraguay launched their joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup on Tuesday.

Uruguay president Luis Lacalle Pou hosted the leaders looking to bring another World Cup final to the same Centenário stadium in Montevideo where the first edition of the tournament was played in 1930. Uruguay then won Argentina by 4-2.

Alejandro Domínguez, president of the South American soccer body CONMEBOL, said in a press conference that the candidacy “is the dream of the continent”.

“One hundred years (since the first World Cup) will be achieved only once. And he must return home”, said Domínguez. “We believe that is more than enough reason for FIFA to accept that this becomes the only bid.”

Spain and Portugal also have a joint bid for the 2030 World Cup.

The four South American nations began to consider their bid in 2017. Brazil hosted the World Cup in 2014.

FIFA executives expect the 2030 selection to be made in two years’ time. Qatar will host this year’s tournament, and the 2026 edition will be held in the United States, Mexico and Canada.


More AP football: i

Source link

You May Also Like

About the Author: SteveSossin

Welcome! I keep up on all the latest cbd and thc news!