FIFA World Cup-winning managers: 1930 to 2018

Some of the biggest names in football history have led their teams to World Cup glory.

The World Cup is a tournament where legends are made.

Pele Diego Maradona Ronaldo. These are some of the names synonymous with excellence at the highest levels of the game, aided in no small part by their World Cup exploits.

But it’s not just the players who gain greater stature after succeeding in the biggest sporting event on the planet. Managers have also assumed legendary status for leading their respective teams to glory on the biggest stage. The likes of Franz Beckenbauer, Marcello Lippi, Alf Ramsey and Mario Zagallo saw their reputations already enhanced as former players rose to new heights as coaches of World Cup-winning teams. Some coaches, such as Luis Felipe Scolari, were not well-known from their playing days, but catapulted their coaching careers thanks to World Cup success.

Here is a complete list of World Cup winning managers from all tournaments so far.

FIFA World Cup winning managers: 1930 to 2018

1930: Alberto Suppici, Uruguay 1934: Vittorio Pozzo, Italy 1938: Vittorio Pozzo, Italy 1950: Juan Lopez, Uruguay 1954: Sepp Herberger, West Germany 1974: Helmut Schön, West Germany 1978: Cesar Luis Menotti, Argentina 1978: Cesar Luis Menotti , Argentina Italy 1986: Carlos Bilardo, Argentina 1990: Franz Beckenbauer, West Germany France 2002: Luis Felipe Scolari, Brazil 2006: Marcello Lippi, Italy 2010: Vicente del Bosque, Spain 2014: Joachim Low, Germany 2018: Didier Deschamps, France

Source link

You May Also Like

About the Author: SteveSossin

Welcome! I keep up on all the latest cbd and thc news!